• Leadership Corpus Christi Graduates 44th Class!

    • Share:
    June 01, 2016

    Leadership Corpus Christi Graduates 30 New Community Leaders!
    On May 26, 2016, Leadership Corpus Christi members family, friends and many Leadership Corpus Christi Alumni gathered at the Omni Hotel to celebrate the graduation of Leadership Corpus Christi’s 44th consecutive class. The keynote speaker was Representative Todd Hunter, alumni of LCC Class IX.
    The Leadership Corpus Christi Alumni Association’s Annual Meeting also took place prior to the graduation ceremony with Ms. Gina Prince-Bryant receiving the Alumni of the Year Award and Ms. C. Michelle Unda turning over the Board Chair position to Mr. Sam Canavati who will lead the Alumni Association in the 2016-2017 year.
    The General Chair of Leadership Corpus Christi Class 44 Steering Committee was Dr. Roland Hernandez, Superintendent of Corpus Christi I.S.D. and graduate of Leadership Corpus Christi Class 40. Dr. Hernandez presented certificates to all 30 graduating class members. Steering Committee members of Class 44 who helped plan and implement the sessions this past year included Mr. Adam Farrell (Chair-Elect), Sean Babcock, Melissa Espitia, Ben Molina, Samuel Longoria, Jessica Savage Alford, Gus Barrera, Rick Pedraza, Christina Hernandez and Carla Johnson.
    Steering Committee members for upcoming Class 45 were also announced. The General Chair for Class 45 will be Mr. Adam Farrell and his Steering Committee for the upcoming year will include Diane Larue, Carla Gardiner, Omar Lopez, Patty Clark, Kendra Kinnison, Everett Roy, Sean Babcock, Christina Hernandez, Jim Kunau and Natalie Villarreal.
    Leadership Corpus Christi is a program of the Corpus Christi Chamber of Commerce Foundation and supported by various businesses and organizations throughout the Coastal Bend.  Thank you to all of the sponsors who made this year possible, especially this year’s Presenting Sponsors Fulton Coastcon and Gignac and Associates.
    Leadership Corpus Christi began in 1972 and is the third oldest leadership program in the nation. The program prepares existing and emerging leaders to make a difference in Corpus Christi. Thirty participants are carefully screened and selected each year to attend the ten-month intensive training program designed to prepare dedicated, visionary leaders with passion to improve the quality of life for all persons and institutions in the Corpus Christi community.
    Federal and state legislators, business and civic leaders, and chief officers of important non-profit organizations and agencies are numbered among the over 1,250 graduates of Leadership Corpus Christi. Many of the people making a positive difference in Corpus Christi today were prepared for their role as servant leaders through participation in their Leadership classes. 
    Denny Asbury, Corpus Christi Police Department, Captain
    Kimberly Becerra, Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi, Director of Development – College of Business
    Jillian Becquet, Corpus Christi Museum Of Science And History, Collections Manager & Registrar
    Bill Bonilla, Bonilla & Chapa, P.C., Attorney
    Julian Camacho, Camacho Demolition LLC, Business Manager
    Tracey Cazalas, Keller Williams, Realtor
    Curtis Clark, IBC Bank, Cash Management Officer
    Kenny Erben, Corpus Christi Fire Department, Battalion Chief
    Monica Espericueta, H-E-B, Center Store Leader
    Heather Garcia, Spherion Staffing, LLC, Staffing Consultant
    Melanie Gavlik, Naismith Engineering, Inc., Project Engineer
    Doreen Harrell, Kailo Communications Studio, Senior PR Associate
    Scott Harris, Lockwood, Andrews & Newnam, Inc., Regional Manager
    Heidi Hovda, Corpus Christi Convention And Visitors Bureau, Director of Special Events and Social Media, Film Commissioner
    Shawn Karaca, Moore Supply Co., The Bath & Kitchen Showplace, District Manager
    Stephanie Kusy, American Cancer Society, Hospital Systems Manager
    George Lerma, Corpus Christi Independent School District, Principal
    Christopher  Majors, AG/CM Inc., Construction Manager
    Amy McCoy, Buccaneer Commission, Event Manager
    Nick Nilest, Corpus Christi Rehabilitation Hospital, CEO
    Raul Ramirez, Department Of The Army - Texas A&M CC Army ROTC, Recruiting Operations Officer
    Everett Roy, Kleberg Bank, Vice President, Mortgage Center
    Luis Sanchez, New York Life, Marketing & Recruiting Manager
    Leslie Smith, City of Corpus Christi Police Department, Administrative Manager
    Bill Stockley, Fastsigns, Owner
    Jonathan Torres, FSG Electric, Construction Superintendent
    Katy Urias, American Bank, Mortgage Loan Officer
    Natalie Villarreal, Del Mar College, Alumni Coordinator
    Louis Williams, Porter, Rogers, Dahlman & Gordon, P.C., Attorney
    Kim Wilmoth, Javier Alonso, M.D., Marketing Director
    Paige Kimball, Foundation Executive
    (361) 881-1800